First “official” day

15 08 2010

I’m having to lump a few posts together, retroactively, on the same day because my in-laws don’t have internet access. However, there are cyber cafes everywhere so it was just a matter of time before I could get to one.

The day after I arrived in Nepal, I checked in with the Fulbright office and met the rest of the kind folks whom I’d been emailing the last few months. There was paperwork to complete and other details to cover, but I now have a cell phone and I’ve at least glimped my new apartment, which is located in the Lazimpat neighborhood where most of the foreigm embassies and consulates are also located. The apartment is also near the Saraswati Temple, which is perfect since she’s the goddess of knowledge and the arts, and I’m an art professor!

I had been planning to move over the weekend, but there is a bandh (strike) taking place on Sunday and all the main intersections will be blocked, so it looks like I’ll move on Monday. One very popular Nepali phrase that people say while shrugging their shoulders is “ke garne.” Roughly translated, it means “the situation is beyond my control and there’s nothing I can do.” I have a feeling I’ll be both saying and hearing ke garne a lot in Nepal.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

