Last blog post for a while

29 11 2010

Dear Readers,

I am sorry to report that this will be my last blog post for a while. My mother-in-law died yesterday here in Kathmandu. Students whose questions I haven’t yet answered – I hope you’ll understand if I’m unable to respond.

My mother-in-law, like many rural Nepali girls of her time, never learned to read or write because her circumstances dictated she drop out of school to marry at the age of seven years. Despite this, she worked hard all her life to ensure that her five children went to college, with at least two receiving advanced degrees. We would be humbled if people were to make donations to the Manakamana Women’s Scholarship Fund in honor of Pampha Kumari Basnet in order to help educate needy Nepali village girls who face family and social pressures to discontinue their education and marry. Information on the fund and online donations are available on the link above, or by writing to the fund at P.O. Box 5, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956 USA or P.O. Box 3059, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Thank you.

Aamaa

Aamaa

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 12 2010
Debra Gardner

Kathryn,
So sorry to hear the news of your mother-in-law’s passing. What a blessing that you were there. Your photographs are so rich and splendid it makes me want to walk into them. I cannot imagine the life-changing time you must be experiencing. Prayers for you and your husband. May you travel back to us safely.
Debra Gardner

7 12 2010
Ndage

Sorry for the loss, will keep you in my prayers.

1 12 2010
crgardenjoe

So sorry to hear the news. My condolences. Loss of a parent or in-law is never an easy thing, and I’ll be thinking of you and Saresh.
Joe

30 11 2010
Jim Hagy

Thinking of you. Dad

30 11 2010
Ben Kromminga

Kathryn,
So sorry to hear about your mother-in-law! Sounds like a very courageous woman!
Best wishes!
Ben

29 11 2010
Michelle Fiester

Kathryn,
I am so, so sorry for your loss. I will keep you guys in my prayers.
Michelle

Leave a Reply

